The Secret Women

The Secret WomenThe Secret Women: A Novel
by Sheila Williams

TOP SUMMER 2020 BEACH READ PICK — TimeWomen’s WorldParade and more. 

Order Now  Read an Excerpt  Recent Press

The author of Dancing on the Edge of the Roof, now a Netflix film starring Alfre Woodard, returns with a riveting, emotionally rich, novel that explores the complex relationship between mothers and daughters in a fresh, vibrant way—a stunning page-turner for fans of Terry McMillan, Tayari Jones, and Kimberla Lawson Roby.

Elise Armstrong, Carmen Bradshaw, and DeeDee Davis meet in a yoga class. Though vastly different, these women discover they all have one thing in common: their mothers have recently passed away. Becoming fast friends, the trio make a pact to help each other sort through the belongings their mothers’ left behind. But when they find old letters and diaries, Elise, Carmen, and DeeDee are astonished to learn that each of their mothers hid secrets—secrets that will transform their own lives.

Meeting each month over margaritas, the trio share laughter, advice, and support. As they help each other overcome challenges and celebrate successes, Elise, Carmen, and DeeDee gain not only a better understanding of the women their mothers were, but of themselves. They also come to realize they have what their mothers needed most but did not have during difficult times—other women they could trust.

Filled with poignant life lessons, The Secret Women pays tribute to the power of friendship and family and the bonds that tie us together. Beautiful, full of spirit and heart, it is a thoughtful and ultimately uplifting story of unconditional love.

Reviews for The Secret Women

“Award-winning author Sheila Williams’ latest book is a rich, emotionally uplifting story that unfolds when three women, Elise, Carmen and DeeDee, meet in yoga class. Despite being from different walks of life, the trio ends up bonding over the sad fact that they all lost their mothers. So when each woman finds old diaries and letters left behind by their moms, it sends them on a path to find truth, family and lifelong friendship.”
Women’s World

“A moving examination of the complexities of motherhood and the strength of female friendship.”
Kirkus Reviews

“This big-hearted, authentic portrayal of both friendship among middle-aged women and the mother-daughter bond will appeal to fans of Terry McMillan.”
Booklist

Order The Secret Women